2023-2024 Broaddus ISD School Board

January is School Board Recognition Month and Broaddus ISD is celebrating its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district and its students. 

The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is Locally Elected, Community Connected, which highlights the connection between school trustees and their communities. School board members are the largest group of locally-elected officials in the state. 

“Broaddus ISD is led by seven members who are locally elected, community connected and strive to put our students first.  The BISD Board ensures that our district employs first-class staff to ensure elite education and to provide state of the art facilities for our school.  I personally would like to thank them for their dedication and commitment  to our students, staff and community,” says Lucas Holloway, Broaddus Superintendent.

School board members were formally recognized at the January 11 school board meeting. They were presented with a thank you video created by the Graphic Design Department that highlighted the many reasons that Broaddus students appreciate the school board’s commitment. They were also awarded a certificate of appreciation from TASB and BISD for their dedication. 

Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of volunteer trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care. 

“Texas school boards are so important because they bring a deep understanding of the needs and aspirations of their local communities to their role,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts by providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their communities.” 

Board members serving Broaddus ISD are: 

Travis Elizalde, Michael Sowell, Doug Sowell, Micha Miller, Jathan Green, Brock Weatherford, and Pete Mancill

Learn more about school board service at tasb.org.

School Board Appreciation 2024